Creating an app for the playlist

With the new update out I have to say I love the 3 included apps. I can’t believe that no one has asked for instructions how to create and submit such an app. Did I miss that somewhere?

Hi @brandstaetter - so far we’ve had some good interest from developer emailing directly, but we’d love to open up the discussion on the forum too so that over developers can learn from it. Can you request access to the Developer lounge and tell us about the app you’d like to create. We’ll post instructions there on how to create apps.

Could I ask for some clarification here??? New update??? My Joto app shows Firmware Version 1.3.0. Is that the newest/latest? Also, what is meant by “3 included apps”? I’m new to Joto and just want to make sure I’m up-to-date. Thanks!

Hi @dwburger - apps and playlist went live on Friday. Big public announcement tomorrow.

It’s available to 365 Days of Art subscribers. If you look in the Device Center - you’ll see the Playlist tab and can add apps to a different time slots to be drawn automatically.

If you’d like to develop and app it’s very easy with some basic web code and you get a free 365 subscription to say thank you!

Thanks for the explanation! I’ll look forward to the announcement tomorrow. Looks like I’ve got lots to learn.

Whoops sorry, diddn’t know this wasn’t yet 100% ppublic :smiley:

It’s live and available to everyone - but only announced to our Kickstarter backers on Friday. A newsletter to everyone is going out today :slight_smile:

Now that I understand what the three apps are and reading that app creation is “very easy with some basic web code”, I’d like to know more. Can anyone post details on how to proceed? I’d like to know what’s involved. Thanks!

Hi @dwburger - sure just drop me an email (you’ve got my address) with your email you use for login and I’ll set you up an app :slight_smile:

(Have added you to the dev group in this forum so you can post to the dev lounge)